Paderewski Festival 2018 – Cultural Exchange Students Showcased in Recital

Piotr Lara, Luke Kim, Antón de la Fuente and Małgorzata Machowska

The closing event of the Paso Robles 2018 Paderewski Festival took place this year at the Halter Ranch and Vineyard, a fairly long, but very beautiful 11-mile drive from downtown Paso Robles. We were hearing the six Cultural Exchange Students (Bohdan Terłetskyy and Małgorzata Machowska are missing from the above photo because my wide-angle lens wasn’t wide enough) perform for us on the beautiful “Tiffany” Steinway B that has played such an important role in events during the Festival this year. Read full story

Archived in these categories: Piano, Youth

Paderewski Festival 2018 – Gala Recital by pianist Kate Liu

Image result for kate liu, piano - images

Last night we had the pleasure of hearing the exciting young pianist, Kate Liu, in an astonishing performance that combined blazing virtuosity with a rare subtlety of expressive magic that drew us into her world and held us spellbound for the better part of two hours. Since the occasion was the Gala Artist Recital in the Ballroom of the Paso Robles Inn that closes the Paderewski Festival every year, it was no surprise that the opening work on her program was a work by Paderewski, the Mélodie, Op. 16, No. 2. Read full story

Archived in these categories: 20th Century, Classical Era, Piano, Romantic Era

Paderewski Youth Competition 2018 — Awards Concert

Noelle Hadsall, Andy Shen, Suri Kim, Simon Liu & Max Afifi

A large audience was on hand Saturday afternoon in the Grand Ballroom of the Paso Robles Inn to hear the young winners of the Paderewski Youth Piano Competition. Joel Peterson acknowledged the donors and benefactors of the festival and introduced the Consul General of the Republic of Poland, Jarosław J. Łasiński. Read full story

Archived in these categories: 20th Century, Classical Era, Piano

Paderewski Festival Exchange Students in Home Concert

Sofiya Dashak, Antón de la Fuente, Piotr Lara, Małgorzata Machowska & Bohdan Terletskyy

The Paderewski Festival is a four-day festival held in Paso Robles every year in November celebrating Paderewski’s heritage as virtuoso pianist, composer, and international statesman — he was the First Premier of Poland after World War I. The Festival features concerts, exhibits, lectures, master classes and film screenings, as well as wine tasting and and tours of local vineyards. Read full story

Archived in these categories: Piano

The Third Ear: A Recital by Seong-Jin Cho

An extraordinary exhibition of pianistic virtuosity and seamless musicianship graced the precincts of the Herbst Theatre in San Francisco on Monday evening, October 21, under the auspices of San Francisco Performances, with Seong-Jin Cho’s electrifying renditions of music by Bach, Schubert, Chopin and Mussorgsky. The Korean pianist, winner of the 2015 Gold Medal at the Chopin International Competition in Warsaw, may appear demure and shy in person, but once seated at the keyboard he commands no less than a Titan’s arsenal of power and colors, focused entirely and aptly, to the style of the music at hand. It seemed as if each successive selection unleashed potential within the piano that a wizard had found the alchemy to manipulate. By the time Cho graced the audience with two encores, the sense of awe and veneration in the hall had us palpably in thrall. Read full story

Archived in these categories: Piano, Romantic Era